Notes to Myself #3

Feather

What is the purpose of an arrow? The answer is obvious – to pierce its target!

But why, despite the target being in sight and the bow to propel the arrow being ready, does the target remain unattainable? The question had flummoxed me for long, and answer was revealed to me last week – because the arrow is blunt and crooked, not ready to meet its target yet.

I am the arrow, what should I do? For too long, I had assumed that the arrow would be sharpened and straightened in the course of time. But now I know that it needs effort – special, conscientious effort. I am the arrow. There is going to be pain, terrible pain as I let myself be hammered repeatedly and straightened. It is going to hurt like hell as abrasive materials scrape my surface, bruise my ego. I would need to do uncomfortable things, put myself to test repeatedly, and learn and grow. But I am going to do it all the same.

I need to move. I am not the stagnant water that accumulates more and more and let them all decay in me gradually. I am an arrow. I was created to travel, to pierce the target. But now I know I am  also the archer that will ready the arrow.

(Thought courtesy: SwamiP and MU)

Leave a comment